Eat Drink Enjoy

CAFE WINE BAR NOW OPEN!

Bruschetta, Paninis, Soups, Salads, Pizza + Shareables
Download Menu

8 Great Beers on Tap
Wine by the Glass + Bottle
Beer & Wine List

Now Playing Coming Attractions Special Events
Mon, Nov 19
1 & 7pm
Tue, Nov 20
1pm, 6:30pm
Sammy Davis Jr.: I've Gotta Be Me
Tue, Nov 27
1pm, 7pm
Thu, Nov 29 7pm
Sat, Dec 8 10am
Sat, Dec 1 10am
Wed, Dec 12 1 & 7pm
Tue, Dec 4 7pm
Thu, Dec 6 1 & 7pm
Wed, Dec 5
1pm, 6:30pm
Tue, Dec 11 1pm
Thu, Dec 13
7pm
The Rape of Recy Taylor

The Rape of Recy Taylor

A Benefit for Verity
Thu, Mar 29 7pm

To Purchase Tickets Click HERE

Recy Taylor, a 24-year-old black mother and sharecropper, was gang raped by six white boys in 1944 Alabama. Common in Jim Crow South, few women spoke up in fear for their lives. Not Recy Taylor, who bravely identified her rapists. The NAACP sent its chief rape investigator Rosa Parks, who rallied support and triggered an unprecedented outcry for justice.

Our film exposes a legacy of physical abuse of black women and reveals Rosa Parks' intimate role in Recy Taylor's story. An attempted rape against Parks was but one inspiration for her ongoing work to find justice for countless women like Taylor. The 1955 bus boycott was an end result, not a beginning.

More and more women are now speaking up after rape. Our film tells the story of black women who spoke up when danger was greatest; it was their noble efforts to take back their bodies that led to the Montgomery Bus Boycott and movements that followed. The 2017 Global March by Women is linked to their courage. From sexual aggression on '40s southern streets to today's college campuses and to the threatened right to choose, it is control of women's bodies that powered the movement in Recy Taylor's day and fuels our outrage today.

Daily Showtimes
A Benefit for Verity
Thu, Mar 29
7pm  
Film Facts
Running Time
91
Genre
Documentary
MPAA Rating
NR
Starring
Cynthia Erivo
John L. Payne
Jack Kyser
Tommy Bernardi
Tom Gibbs
Directed By
Nancy Buirski
Written by
Nancy Buirski
Produced by
Nancy Buirski
Beth Hubbard
Susan Margolin
Claire Chandler
Admission & Prices
Adult $11.50
Senior (62+) $9
Child (11 and under) $9
Bargain Show
Daily, before 5:30pm, $9.50
3D Upcharge $2.50