Eat Drink Enjoy

CAFE WINE BAR NOW OPEN!

Bruschetta, Paninis, Soups, Salads, Pizza + Shareables
Download Menu

8 Great Beers on Tap
Wine by the Glass + Bottle
Beer & Wine List

Now Playing Coming Attractions Special Events
AIR LAND SEA (Various)
Fri, Sep 13-
Thu, Sep 19
Wed, Sep 18
1pm, 7pm
Tue, Sep 24
1pm, 7pm
Wed, Sep 25
7pm
Thu, Sep 26 1 & 7pm
Sat, Sep 28 10am
Sun,Sep 29 12pm
Thu, Oct 3 6:30pm
Sat, Oct 5 12pm
Wed, Oct 2 7pm
Sat, Oct 19 10am
Fri, Oct 4
- Sun, Oct 6
Various
OUTWatch Film Series: Rafiki

OUTWatch Film Series: Rafiki

OUTWatch Film Series
Thu, Aug 8!

To Purchase Tickets Click HERE

Bursting with the colorful street style & music of Nairobi's vibrant youth culture, RAFIKI is a tender love story between two young women in a country that still criminalizes homosexuality. Kena and Ziki have long been told that "good Kenyan girls become good Kenyan wives" - but they yearn for something more. Despite the political rivalry between their families, the girls encourage each other to pursue their dreams in a conservative society. When love blossoms between them, Kena and Ziki must choose between happiness and safety.

Initially banned in Kenya for its positive portrayal of queer romance, RAFIKI won a landmark supreme court case chipping away at Kenyan anti-LGBT legislation. Featuring remarkable performances by newcomers Samantha Mugatsia and Sheila Munyiva, RAFIKI is a hip tale of first love "reminiscent of the early work of Spike Lee" (Screen Daily) that's "impossible not to celebrate" (Variety)!

In English and Swahili with English subtitles
Film Facts
Running Time
83
Genre
LGBTQ
African Diaspora
Drama
MPAA Rating
NR
Starring
Samantha Mugatsia
Sheila Munyiva
Patricia Amira
Dennis Musyoka
Directed By
Wanuri Kahiu
Admission & Prices
Adult $11.75
Senior (62+) $9.50
Child (11 and under) $9.50
Bargain Show
Daily, before 5:30pm, $9.95
3D Upcharge $2.50