Eat Drink Enjoy

CAFE WINE BAR NOW OPEN!

Bruschetta, Paninis, Soups, Salads, Pizza + Shareables
Download Menu

8 Great Beers on Tap
Wine by the Glass + Bottle
Beer & Wine List

Now Playing Coming Attractions Special Events
Thu, July 25 7pm
Sat, Aug 10 10am
Tue, July 30
1pm, 7pm
Thu, Aug 1
7pm
Tue, Aug 6
1pm, 7pm
Thu, Aug 15
1pm, 7pm
Sun, Aug 18 12pm
Wed, Aug 21 6:30pm
Sat, Aug 24 12pm
Thu, Aug 22
7pm
Tue, Aug 27
1pm, 7pm
Thu, Sep 5
7pm
Wed, Sep 18
1pm, 7pm
OUTWatch Film Series: Rafiki

OUTWatch Film Series: Rafiki

OUTWatch Film Series
Thu, Aug 8!

To Purchase Tickets Click HERE

Bursting with the colorful street style & music of Nairobi's vibrant youth culture, RAFIKI is a tender love story between two young women in a country that still criminalizes homosexuality. Kena and Ziki have long been told that "good Kenyan girls become good Kenyan wives" - but they yearn for something more. Despite the political rivalry between their families, the girls encourage each other to pursue their dreams in a conservative society. When love blossoms between them, Kena and Ziki must choose between happiness and safety.

Initially banned in Kenya for its positive portrayal of queer romance, RAFIKI won a landmark supreme court case chipping away at Kenyan anti-LGBT legislation. Featuring remarkable performances by newcomers Samantha Mugatsia and Sheila Munyiva, RAFIKI is a hip tale of first love "reminiscent of the early work of Spike Lee" (Screen Daily) that's "impossible not to celebrate" (Variety)!

In English and Swahili with English subtitles
Thursday,
August 8 Only!
Film Facts
Running Time
83
Genre
LGBTQ
African Diaspora
Drama
MPAA Rating
NR
Starring
Samantha Mugatsia
Sheila Munyiva
Patricia Amira
Dennis Musyoka
Directed By
Wanuri Kahiu
Admission & Prices
Adult $11.75
Senior (62+) $9.50
Child (11 and under) $9.50
Bargain Show
Daily, before 5:30pm, $9.95
3D Upcharge $2.50