Eat Drink Enjoy

CAFE WINE BAR NOW OPEN!

Bruschetta, Paninis, Soups, Salads, Pizza + Shareables
Download Menu

8 Great Beers on Tap
Wine by the Glass + Bottle
Beer & Wine List

Now Playing Coming Attractions Special Events
Thu, Aug 16
1pm
Wed, Aug 22
7pm
Thu, Aug 23
7pm
Thu, Aug 30
1pm
Wed, Sep 5
1pm, 7pm
Thu, Sep 6 7pm
Sat, Sep 15 10am
Thu, Sep 20
1pm, 7pm
Wed, Sep 26
Thu, Sep 27 7pm
Sat, Sep 29 10am
Version A:
Thu, Oct 25 7pm

Version B:
Mon, Oct 29 7pm

Thu, Nov 8
Wed, Nov 7
Tue, Dec 11
Tue, Nov 20
EXHIBITION On Screen 2018/19 Season: Degas - Passion for Perfection

EXHIBITION On Screen 2018/19 Season: Degas - Passion for Perfection

Wed, Nov 7 & Tue, Dec 11

Pick Six and Save! Pick Ten and Save More!
To Purchase Tickets Click HERE

EXHIBITION ON SCREEN journeys from the streets of Paris to the heart of a superb exhibition at the Fitzwilliam Museum in Cambridge, whose extensive collection of Degas' works is the most representative in Britain. With exclusive access to view rare and diverse works, this film tells a fascinating story of Degas' pursuit for perfection through both experimentation with new techniques and lessons learnt from studying the past masters.

Sometimes frustrated by his own failings, Degas was consumed by obsessive principles and failing eye sight but his determination to capture everyday life was evident in every mark he made. Never fully satisfied, many of Degas' drawings and sculptures were kept in private during his lifetime but, now through close examination, they can be seen as some of the most beautifully detailed and expressive works in the modern era. Using written accounts by friends and commentators, and the narration of letters written by Degas himself, this film reveals a more complex truth behind one of the most influential French artists of the late 19th-century and serves as an exploration of the complex workings of Degas' artistic mind.

"Art is not a matter of what you see, but what you make other people see." Edgar Degas

Daily Showtimes
Wed, Nov 7
Tue, Dec 11
Film Facts
Running Time
85
Genre
Art
MPAA Rating
NR
Directed By
David Bickerstaff
Admission & Prices

$16

*Prices subject
to service charge