Eat Drink Enjoy

CAFE WINE BAR NOW OPEN!

Bruschetta, Paninis, Soups, Salads, Pizza + Shareables
Download Menu

8 Great Beers on Tap
Wine by the Glass + Bottle
Beer & Wine List

Now Playing Coming Attractions Special Events
Wed, Oct 18
1 & 7pm
Long Story Short Films
Tue, Oct 24
1pm, 7:30pm
Wed, Oct 25
1pm, 6:30pm
Wed, Nov 1
1pm, 7pm
Hello Again (Treat as R)
Wed, Nov 8 7pm
Sat, Nov 11 11am
Wed, Nov 15 7pm
;
Mon, Nov 13
1pm, 7pm
Thu, Nov 16 7pm
Sat, Dec 2 10am
Sat, Nov 18 10am
Wed, Nov 29
1 & 7pm
Tue, Nov 21
1pm, 6:30pm
Wed, Dec 6 1 & 7pm
Wed, Jan 10 1pm
Thu, Dec 7 7pm
Sat, Dec 16 10am
Sat, Dec 9 10am
Wed, Dec 13
1 & 7pm
Mon, Dec 11
7pm
Wed, Dec 20
1pm, 6:30pm
Wed, Jan 24 1 & 7pm
Tue, Feb 20 1pm
Community Cinema: Love Free or Die

Community Cinema: Love Free or Die

FREE SCREENING!
Tue, June 11 7pm

In 2003, Gene Robinson became the first openly gay priest in a committed same-sex relationship to be ordained a bishop in any Christian denomination. But his consecration has brought the Episcopal Church in the United States to the brink of a catastrophic schism, and has resulted in threats of violence against Robinson himself (he wore a bulletproof vest to the elevation ceremony). But with his beloved husband Mark at his side, Robinson continues to calmly make the case that who you love doesn't determine whether God loves you.

Robinson's story parallels the conversation underway in many American churches about whether gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender people are equal to heterosexuals in the eyes of God, and also the debate in legislatures and courthouses across the nation as to whether LGBT people are entitled to equal status under the law.

His ministry takes him from the tiny rural churches of rural New Hampshire all the way to the national stage, when he was chosen by President-elect Barack Obama to deliver the invocation at his 2009 inauguration. Sometimes he is shouted down when he is leading prayers; he has received more death threats than he can count. He also receives calls from young gay Christians who draw strength, hope, and courage from Robinson's example.

But Robinson's elevation has reverberated through not only the American Episcopal church, but beyond, to the Anglican Communion as well. With the threat of a schism ever-present, dozens of socially and theologically conservative congregations voted to separate from the church and align with conservative bishops from the Southern hemisphere, a move the leadership has thus far prevented. As the pressure built, the Archbishop of Canterbury, Rowan Williams, pointedly did not invite Robinson to Lambeth Palace in 2008 for the once-a-decade conference of the world’s bishops. Robinson took his message to the media outside.

Robinson has announced his intentions to retire from the church next year at 65, and will continue his work as a Senior Fellow at the Center for American Progress, his legacy continues to be written daily across one of the world’s oldest Christian traditions. He also continues the conversation about LGBT rights in his book God Believes in Love: Straight Talk About Gay Marriage, answering questions like "Why gay marriage now?", "What's wrong with civil unions?", and "Doesn't the Bible condemn homosexuality?", and makes the case for same-sex marriage as a man of faith.

Film Facts
Running Time
TBA
Genre
Documentary
MPAA Rating
NR
Starring
Directed By
Macky Alston
Admission & Prices
Adult $11
Senior (62+) $8.50
Child (11 and under) $8.50
Bargain Show
Daily, before 5:30pm, $9
3D Upcharge $2.50