Now Playing
Today, Thu, May 25, 2017
Norman (R)
Coming Attractions Special Events
Tue, May 23
Thu, May 25
7pm ♿
Mon, May 29
1pm ♿, 7pm ♿
Tue, May 30
Thu, June 1
Tue, June 6
Thu, June 8
7pm ♿
Wed, May 31
7pm
Wed, June 7
5:30 ♿, 7:30 ♿, 9:30 ♿
Tue, June 13
Thu, June 15
Tue, June 27
Thu, June 29
7pm ♿
Wed, June 14
7pm ♿
Wed, June 28
1pm ♿, 7pm ♿
Tue, July 11
Thu, July 13
Tue, July 18
Thu, July 20
7pm ♿
Wed, July 12 1pm ♿
7pm ♿
Wed, July 26 4pm ♿
Rebels With a Cause

Rebels With a Cause

To Purchase Tickets Click HERE

Director Q&As after show Mon

A documentary about the people who saved Point Reyes National Seashore and the GGNRA for all of us!

The project began 14 years ago when Nancy Dobbs, KRCB's President and CEO, read "Saving the Marin-Sonoma Coast" by L. Martin Griffin. The novel tells of the saving of the Point Reyes peninsula for a national park, the salvation of the Bolinas Lagoon and the establishment of the Golden Gate National Recreation Area. It also presents the threat at the time: Marincello, the Gulf Oil-backed development that would have put 30,000 residents on the Marin Headlands overlooking the Golden Gate Bridge.

"I knew that most local people didn't know these stories," said Dobbs, and she decided to find a way to tell them.

In 2007, KRCB teamed up with Kelly and Yamamoto, producers of the award-winning documentary "Smitten," to bring the stories to the screen. They looked at the whole sweep of the Marin Coast, interviewing the Rebels and visualizing what might have been.

Narrated by Academy Award Winning actress, Frances McDormand, the film spotlights the citizens from many walks of life who fought to preserve open space, protect agriculture and wildlife, and establish public parks next to a densely populated urban center yearning for access to nature. Their efforts set new precedents for protecting open space and shaped the local environmental movement as we know it today.

This film shows how ordinary people stood up to large, well-financed forces to save these extraordinary landscapes for all time," said Ralph Benson, Sonoma Land Trust Executive Director. Each of us owes them a huge debt that we pay off by continuing to protect land for future generations."

Highlights of the film include segments with former Secretary of the Interior Stewart Udall, then 90 years old, and with 102-year-old Edgar Wayburn, a former Sierra Club president, shortly before their deaths in 2010. They are just two of the collection of "Rebels," including Marty Griffin, who tell their stories in the hour-long film.

Film Facts
Running Time
72
Genre
Documentary
MPAA Rating
NR
Directed By
Nancy Kelly
Kenji Yamamoto
Admission & Prices

To Purchase Tickets
Click HERE

Adult $12.50
Senior (62+) $10
Child (11 and under) $10
Students (with valid student ID) $10
Bargain Matinees
Daily, before 5:30, $10